He who fears the Lord has a secure fortress and for his children it will be a refuge.
Proverbs 14:26

Saturday, July 16, 2011

You light up our lives...

Since we're in the states (where all of our pics are at my mom's house), I was able to take a walk down memory lane today looking for pictures of Maddie to celebrate her birthday.  As you'll see from these pictures, her beautiful smile has been lighting up our family for 10 years.  What a joy you are our Maddie-Moo, Moosey-goose, Madimus- Maximus and we can't deny that at one point you truly were Fatty Maddie!   You are growing up into a beautiful young lady and we are so proud of you!!

Smiling so pretty for the camera from early on (see what I mean about Fatty Maddie?- and just so you know she laughs at that nick name...)


about age 1...

The smile got pretty cheesy for a while there...


Almost 2- right before we left for France

Loved that big sister!  (still does most days...)

Age 2-4



Growing too fast!  Age 5-6





7,8 and 9- Wow time flies!



And now 10!  Keep smiling, beautiful girl, we love you!


Thursday, July 14, 2011

Maddie's Rainbow Cake

I don't have the emotional energy today to blog about sweet Maddie turning 10, but I can talk about her fabulous birthday cake!  I have always loved doing fun things for the girls birthday cakes.  When they were smaller, the cakes were mostly yellow cakes with bday cake ice cream in some fun shape or design.  Not being a huge fan of plain old birthday cake myself with Crisco icing, it's been fun as they've gotten a little older, to have them want something that actually tastes pretty good to adult's too.

This year I spotted a rainbow cake at a bakery I visited last weekend and knew it would be the perfect cake for Maddie- she agreed.  So I got online and googled (or goggled as my Memommy pronounces it... :)) "rainbow cake" and was very surprised at how many things came up.  Martha Stewart's was definitely the most popular- here is the link and the pretty pictures.  As I read this recipe though, not only did it sound very complicated to me, but it also didn't sound that great- I mean white cake with icing- and holy cow, look at how complicated that icing recipe is!  So I continued looking for something that I thought would actually taste better than a plain old white cake and I came across this recipe- Southern Coconut Cake that looked fabulous.  It looked to make about the same amount of cake as the rainbow cake recipe so I decide to go with it and it was SO WORTH IT!  SUCH a yummy cake.  I basically followed the directions for mixing the coconut cake and then switched over to the Martha Stewart rainbow cake recipe  for putting the cake together.  It was so much fun and such a hit.  Even my husband who is misguided enough to think that the words "too sweet" can actually be put together raved about how fabulous this cake tasted.  I've never made an icing like this either.   A combination of a meringue and cream cheese icing- so light and yummy.  If I do it again, I will actually probably double the icing recipe.  It was meant for the three layer coconut cake so there was not quite enough to go between the 6 layers of the rainbow cake and cover the top- but I improvised with more cream cheese, butter and sugar- can't have enough of cream cheese and sugar, right?  Here's what we did...

First, divide the batter into 6 bowls and color each one (I used gel coloring)

(Maddie was very excited...)

Since our lives are pretty much uprooted right now with all of our belongings being packed up, I used throw away pans and the only ones I could find were square...

Next, the stressful assembly...

And the celebration!..

So much fun to cut into and see the rainbow surprise!

(and I thought you should see a pretty picture of Martha Stewart's cake since mine didn't quite turn out like this...)

Who am I?

I uploaded some pics to facebook yesterday for Maddie's 10th bday (how is she 10??) and also some 2 month pics of Anabelle (I can't believe my baby is 2 months old!) and in the process I also put pictures of the other girls at 2 months old as a sort of guessing game- to me it was totally obvious who each one was because they really don't look that much alike I don't think, but I was surprised at the variety of responses.  Thought it would be fun to put the pics on here as well- see if you can figure out who's who...





Saturday, June 11, 2011

Baby face

I don't know about you, but I don't think I'm ever REALLY able to tell who a baby looks like.  Definitely I can start to see resemblances as they get a bit older, but babies are just hard for me.  Sometimes I think people just feel they need to say, "oh, she looks just like so and so..."  Anyway.  Of course we've been asked with Anabelle,  "so who does she look like?"  Honestly, I really don't know!  I say that I think she looks more like Abbey or Maddie than Naomi but that could just be the dark hair...  Anyway, here are some baby pics of all of our little ones- I'll put who's who at the bottom of the post- see if you get it right...










(Abbey, Anabelle, Naomi, Maddie, Abbey, Anabelle, Naomi, Anabelle)

Lucky me! Lucky me!...

...Look at what I"m dripping with- little girls!  And truly we are as one month ago pink laundry got a lot pinker as we (finally!!) welcomed Miss Anabelle Rose.  She sauntered her way into our family quite at her own pace on May 11 by emergency c-section no less.  Who knew?  My doctor and Jason were afraid with my history that I wouldn't make it to the hospital (I have very fast labors), but not only did I make it (kicking and screaming as I did NOT want to be induced but these days my doc was very generous to let me go 8 days past my due date...) but I didn't even really do any kind of significant labor before Miss Priss decided she was not happy with the way things were proceeding.  Her heart rate started doing all kind of crazy things and before I know it, I"m being wheeled down the hall for a c-section.  Wait, what??!!  I'm the one who has 20 minute labors, this was NOT part of the plan!  But, I know it was part of HIS as I look back on how all the events of the day played out.  I'm so thankful for my doctor and the way everything was handled.  It wasn't an ideal situation for sure as for as how baby girls' heartbeat was looking but thank the Lord, my doc got her out quickly and all is well.

That was one month ago today and it's truly hard to believe that she's never been part of our family.  She is such a sweet little thing and especially the last few days has gotten onto a great little schedule and just made my life quite easy as the mom of 4.  People always speculate on which transition as far as number of kids is hardest but truly for us going from 3 to 4 has been easy and fun.  I have built in helpers/baby-sitters.  For me the hardest part has been the c-section recovery but even that is getting better everyday.  Oh, and also I would NOT recommend having a baby in May in the states- school schedules are too crazy!!  This little one can't help but be flexible as we've already dragged her to t-ball games, softball games, end of the year award programs, graduation, and not too mention she has already spent a week at the beach (i'm training her early on what's important!).  There's so much I could say and so much that I want to write about and just haven't had time yet.  For now, here are some pictures of Anabelle's first month...

Finally! 
Anabelle Rose Cox
7 lbs, 13 oz  20.5 inches


Big sisters were SO excited- I'm not sure Naomi thought she was ever going to come once May 3 (due date) came and went...

My grandaddy made this cradle for me when I was a baby and it's Anabelle's "room" at the foot of our bed until we get back overseas.  I admittedly wasn't thrilled about her sharing a room with us, but it has gone great.

Absolute favorite sleeping position her first few weeks of life- right up under Daddy's chin...

Ready for her first outing...

Naomi's t-ball game!

She had to miss Naomi's ballet recital since it was the day she came home from the hospital...

But Naomi understood...

She's also been to Naomi's end of the year program..

..and Abbey's graduation.  Abbey was awarded the Citizenship award that the teachers of the school vote on for the 6th grader who exemplifies Christ-like character- we are so proud!  This is extra special as this award is named after Betty Pruett who was my 6th grade teacher at Christ Methodist 25 years ago (ouch!).  Her she is below with AJ...

Maddie and Abbey also both got awards at Awards day including 2nd prize for art in both of their classes, headmasters list and honor roll.  Can't make those pictures work for some reason right now but still very proud!  

What else?  Can you tell it's been a busy month...
Anabelle was a great traveler for her first trip to the beach!!

I hope she learns to love it as much as her mommy does!

She's gotten lots of love from her big sisters this month!  Especially Naomi who is learning what it means to be a big sister and doing a great job...


Lots of sister love...



Cousins too..

Playing with big sister...

Tummy time...

Swinging..

Play mat..

I may not quite have the smile down but I know how to look very happy...


Bath time..


Happy one month b-day Anabelle!

We already can't remember what our family was like without you...

Tuesday, April 12, 2011

GUURL, you are HUUGE!

Anybody seen Madagascar 2?  There's a scene where one of the big hippos comes waddling out of the water and another hippo is sitting there and says, "Guurl, you are huge" and then goes on and on about her huge size and they see hearts floating, fall in love and probably live happily ever after.  Well.  In case there is any doubt- and I confess there could be given my size...  I am NOT a hippo and I don't appreciate the comments on my hugeness from perfect strangers! 

Let me back up...  I am 37 weeks pregnant with my 4th child and getting fairly used to the comments on my largeness from strangers.  Truly the comments from my friends and family don't bother me at all- I am in fact quite large and I know my friends and family love me and are marveling along with me about my belly of epic proportions (to steal a quote from a dear friend).  I get big when I'm pregnant- my belly sticks really far out in front of me and I'm pretty sure I look like I"m defying gravity and will just topple over at any moment (wait, that wouldn't be defying gravity, would it?  whatever..).  Anyway, I get large.  As much as I try to eat healthy foods, exercise (I waddled on the elliptical machine for 30 minutes at the Y this morning!), I just get big- that's how my body works.  And I truly have always loved being pregnant.  I love watching the little miracle grow inside me.  I love feeling/seeing her move.  I love the excitement leading up to the birth etc.  Granted, this time a round it has taken a little more of a toll on my 36 year old body- I have aches and pains in really strange places, I'm not having trouble breathing but I can barely walk, my 11 year old makes fun of me etc etc.  But I love it, I love it all! 

The other day, I was at the dentist (who also happens to be one of the best uncles in the world) and baby girl was moving around so much that he could see my belly contorting out of the corner of his eye while he worked on my teeth.  And just the other day, I had this classic cuddling moment with the current baby of our family who loves to feel her baby sister move...

So much to be thankful for as we prepare for our newest family member!

Again though, let me back up.  I think I lied up there when I said, I love it all.  Let me tell you what I do not love.  I do not love the comments from complete strangers that are just plain mean.  Tell me, would you walk up to a large or obese person and comment on their size.  I think not.  Then why in the world do people feel it is their duty to comment on the size of pregnant women??  Lie and tell them they're beautiful, ask if they're excited about the new baby, but for heavens sakes DO NOT TELL THEM THEY ARE HUGE!  

Here are some examples of things random strangers have said to me recently:
"WHEN are you due?  You're really big!"
"You have 6 weeks to go!  There's NO WAY you'll make it- you're so large!"
"Have you been THAT BIG with all of your babies?"
"It MUST be twins and they are coming any day!"

OH, and here's a good one...  An elderly man approached me at the car repair place and I see him looking at my belly so I brace myself for the comment.  And what does he say?  "Honey, why you got so many gray hairs?"  Sure, knock her while she's down!  Don't bother commenting on the obvious huge belly- go for the overall appearance slam and insult the one thing she is trying to keep looking normal!  anyway...

And the list goes on and on.  But the classic, beat all, end all comment came this morning.  There I was at Target, minding my own business looking for some clothes for the girls.  Feeling pretty good about myself actually as I had just worked out for 45 minutes at the Y and was still mobile.  Anyway, minding my own business and I hear a voice behind me....   "GUUUURRRLLL!"  I glanced back and there was a very large woman (not pregnant, just large) behind me.  She had her cell phone to her ear so I went about my business thinking she was talking on the phone.  Then again, "guuurrrllll!".  I glanced again and this time heard her say into the phone, "I'm talking to this really big pregnant lady, just a minute"  (great, here we go).  I nodded at her and smiled and she starts again, "Guuurrrl, puhlease tell me that baby is coming any day"  
Me:  "I'm due in 3 weeks.  Not far to go!"  (notice my attempt to be pleasant?)
Random stranger:  " Well, you must be havin twins, naw, triplets!"
Me:  "No maam, one baby.  It's my fourth" (attempt to turn around and continue with shopping)
Random stranger:  (to me)"Gurl, you  HUUUGE!  You must always be HUGE if you look that way when you're pregnant.  You always huge??"  (into phone) "this girl be HUGE!"
Me:  Didn't say anything else- didn't know what to say.  Took the opportunity of her speaking into her phone to bolt before I said something I would very much regret.  Something along the lines of, "Did your momma not teach you any manners?"  or "LAdy, you are HUUUGE too and I"m pretty sure you don't have the excuse of being 37 weeks pregnant!  Are YOU always HUGE?"

I mean seriously?  Manners people!  I started out so well today with my workout and what did I do??  Came home and ate two cappuncino muffins!  (thanks dear friend Kellie for reminding me of that fabulous recipe!)

So, here I am in all of my pregnant glory, and yes, I am huge.   But I am happy to be huge and sooner than later will be holding this little bundle on the outside!  And before you ask, no, I don't even have big babies!  The largest so far has been 7 lbs 4 oz- what do you think- will this one be the biggest yet?  (don't worry if you're reading this you're most likely not a random stranger so I won't mind your comment....)